Treaty Ratification Tracker

3.1  Signature and Ratification of the SADC Protocol against Corruption (SPAC) by SADC Member States

The Protocol is one of the flagship instruments of the SADC for preventing and combating corruption in the region. The SPAC was signed by 14 SADC Heads of State and Government in Malawi on 14 August 2001

Signature and Ratification of the AU Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption (AUCPCC) by SADC Member States

The AUCPCC, which entered into force on 5 August 2006, was adopted by the 2nd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union (AU) in Maputo, Mozambique on 11 July 2003. According to the African Union (2010:2) as at the 6th of August 2010, the AUCPCC had been signed by 45-member states and ratified by 31 members only. As at 17 February 2018, the African Union Advisory Board on Corruption advised that thirty-nine (39) Member States had ratified and therefore, are State Parties to the Convention. These included: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Kenya, Libya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Niger, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The following are not State Parties to the AUCPCC: Democratic Republic of Congo; Mauritius; and Eswatini

Signature and Ratification of the UN Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) by SADC Member States

According to the United Nations Office on Drug and Crime (2018), all the SADC Member States ratified the UNCAC on the dates reflected below. However, Botswana and DRC chose to ratify before signing